One Teaspoon of Turmeric A Day…

Yesterday was February 2nd, Imbolc, and the second day into my Be Selfish, Get Healthy month. Unfortunately, it hasn’t started in the best way considering I am suffering with a chest infection and chronic cough, which is no fun at all. This means I am out of the gym, unable to work out, and it’s so beyond frustrating.

But there are always other ways and means of working on your body and health without working out.

Turmeric has been the subject of a countless number of articles that keep popping up on my News Feed each day. I believe in the universe sending out signals and communicating points needing attention, and so I’ve directed my focus to these articles and, as a result, discovered an array of health benefits associated with the daily consumption of turmeric. As I am a huge believer in the view that nature provides anything and everything we could ever need to achieve a good status of health and to overcome any ailments, I’m far more inclined to look to turmeric for its anti-inflammatory properties, for example, than to a pharmaceutical product, such as brufen. Of course, there is a time and a place for manufactured medication, and I would never deny the need for that, but when we’re talking in a non-urgent, general health and well-being context, then I’m all for natural and holistic methods.

When researching turmeric and its various health benefits, I came across a recipe for Golden Milk. This warm drink is described as being a delicious and simple way of incorporating the teaspoon of turmeric into your daily diet, but also, with an added teaspoon of honey, I have found it can work wonders for chest and throat infections. After having my first cup yesterday afternoon, I didn’t cough once for three hours, and my night’s sleep wasn’t as rough as usual. And although a range of shelved products on the Medication aisle of my supermarket can achieve this same outcome, I know which I’d rather put into my system!

This is the first step of what I hope will be many towards a healthier and more balanced life. The journey continues.

Leave a Reply

